The Old Newhall Jail was completed in 1906. It served as the jail and constable's office until 1926 when the sheriff's substation was opened. Records from the Newhall Sheriff's Station (Substation #6) indicate that the jail housed an estimated 250 prisoners between January and October 1939 after which time it was no longer used. Since then it has housed various commercial businesses. The structure retains the original barred windows.