Back to the list

Old Courthouse (Old Town Newhall)

24307 Railroad Ave

Old Town Newhall

Construction began in 1931 to build the Santa Clarita Courthouse and Masonic Lodge. It is believed that salvaged lumber from the previous Mayhue Building was used in its construction including the floor of the Hap-a-Land Dance Hall. The County Courthouse occupied the ground floor and the Masonic Lodge the second floor. The Newhall Masonic Building Company liquidated and the property was sold in 1960. Los Angeles County relocated the court to Valencia in 1968 and the first floor was renovated for office uses. Railroad Café is also a recent addition that provides coffee, pastries and other goodies often to patrons that utilize the Metrolink Trail Station across the street.