Back to the list

Emile Chaix Residence (Old Town Newhall)

24338 Walnut St Newhall

Old Town Newhall

The Emile Chaix Residence was built in 1915 by local merchant Emile M. Chaix as his family residence. Chaix owned the Derrick Saloon in Newhall (1892), and later operated a grocery store (1898), Chaix Restaurant (1913), and tire shop (1924), on San Fernando Road near 8th Street. This residence currently houses the Boy Scouts of America Service Center.